President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion

FSU created the first university-wide Diversity and Inclusion Council in the fall of 2011. The Council is led by the President and facilitated by the Assistant Vice President/Chief HR and Diversity Officer. In September 2015 the Council was reorganized into a general body made up of three (3) Workgroups and a Steering Committee. Workgroup membership is comprised of select Florida State University faculty, staff, students and community partners. Each Workgroup is focused on one of the key initiatives listed below.  The Steering Committee is made up of members of the President’s Executive team. The Steering Committee provides guidance to the work of the larger Council and reviews proposals and projects developed by the workgroups.  The Council is currently working in support of the diversity and inclusion goals that have been articulated in the University’s Strategic Plan that was approved by the Board of Trustees in October 2017.

Council Initiatives

  • Recruit, develop, and retain a diverse faculty and staff
  • Recruit and graduate outstanding and diverse students
  • Develop and strengthen partnerships with diverse internal and external organizations

Council Structure

President John Thrasher

John Thrasher

Steering Committee

Kyle ClarkVice President, Finance & Administration
Carolyn EganGeneral Counsel
Renisha GibbsAssociate Vice President for Human Resources/Finance and Administration, Chief of Staff & Chief Diversity Officer
Dr. Amy HechtVice President, Division of Student Affairs
Dr. Tom JenningsVice President for University Advancement
Dr. Janet KistnerVice President for Faculty Development & Advancement
Dr. Sally McRorieProvost and Vice President for Executive Affairs
Dr. Gary OstranderVice President for Research

Council: Faculty, Staff, Students, Community

HR Administrative Liasion: Michelle Douglas

Council Members

Edward AcoffProcurement SpecialistProcurement Services
Arnel BacaniDirectorBuilding Services, Facilities
Dr. Karin BrewsterProfessorDepartment of Sociology
Dr. Brandon BowdenAsst. Vice PresidentStudent Affairs
Bridgett BirminghamDiversity & Inclusion Librarian
Director, Civil Rights Institute, University Libraries
Browning BrooksAsst. Vice PresidentUniversity Communications
Somnath ChatterjeeDirectorAcademic & Student Services, Financial Aid
Dr. Billy CloseAsst. ProfessorCollege of Criminology & Criminal Justice
Dr. Antonio CuylerAssociate Chair/Associate ProfessorDepartment of Art Education, College of Fine Arts
Eric FriallImmediate Past PresidentFSU Black Alumni Association
Vanessa FuchsSr. Associate Athletics Director and Senior Woman AdministratorAthletics
Dr. Laurel FulkersonAssociate Vice President for ResearchOffice of Research
Ashton HendersonAssociate Director of Football AdvisingAthletics
Miguel HernándezAssociate DirectorThe Center for Leadership & Social Change
Dr. Roxanne HughesDirector, Center for Integrating Research & LearningNational High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Dr. Bruce LamontJim Moran Eminent Scholar in Business Administration and Director of Research, Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship
Stephanie LeeStudent Body Vice PresidentSGA
Dr. Lara Perez-FelknerAssistant Professor/Program CoordinatorCollege of Education
Dr. Dragana PopovicResearch Faculty IIINational High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Ladanya Ramirez- SurmeierGraduate StudentDepartment of Sociology
Dr. John RibóAssistant ProfessorThe English Department
Dr. Cristina RiosFacultyElementary Education Teaching FSU Panama City
Shane WhittingtonProgram CoordinatorThe Center for Leadership & Social Change