President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion

FSU created the first university-wide Diversity and Inclusion Council in the fall of 2011. The Council is led by the President and facilitated by the Assistant Vice President/Chief HR and Diversity Officer. In September 2015 the Council was reorganized into a general body made up of three (3) Workgroups and a Steering Committee. Workgroup membership is comprised of select Florida State University faculty, staff, students and community partners. Each Workgroup is focused on one of the key initiatives listed below.  The Steering Committee is made up of members of the President’s Executive team. The Steering Committee provides guidance to the work of the larger Council and reviews proposals and projects developed by the workgroups.  The Council is currently working in support of the diversity and inclusion goals that have been articulated in the University’s Strategic Plan that was approved by the Board of Trustees in October 2017.

Council Initiatives

  • Recruit, develop, and retain a diverse faculty and staff
  • Recruit and graduate outstanding and diverse students
  • Develop and strengthen partnerships with diverse internal and external organizations

Council Structure

President John Thrasher

John Thrasher

Steering Committee

Kyle Clark Vice President, Finance & Administration  
Carolyn Egan General Counsel  
Renisha Gibbs Associate Vice President for Human Resources/Finance and Administration, Chief of Staff & Chief Diversity Officer  
Dr. Amy Hecht Vice President, Division of Student Affairs  
Dr. Tom Jennings Vice President for University Advancement  
Dr. Janet Kistner Vice President for Faculty Development & Advancement  
Dr. Sally McRorie Provost and Vice President for Executive Affairs  
Dr. Gary Ostrander Vice President for Research  

Council: Faculty, Staff, Students, Community

HR Administrative Liasion: Michelle Douglas

Council Members

Edward Acoff Procurement Specialist Procurement Services
Arnel Bacani Director Building Services, Facilities
Dr. Karin Brewster Professor Department of Sociology
Dr. Brandon Bowden Asst. Vice President Student Affairs
Bridgett Birmingham Diversity & Inclusion Librarian
Director, Civil Rights Institute, University Libraries
Browning Brooks Asst. Vice President University Communications
Somnath Chatterjee Director Academic & Student Services, Financial Aid
Dr. Billy Close Asst. Professor College of Criminology & Criminal Justice
Dr. Antonio Cuyler Associate Chair/Associate Professor Department of Art Education, College of Fine Arts
Eric Friall Immediate Past President FSU Black Alumni Association
Vanessa Fuchs Sr. Associate Athletics Director and Senior Woman Administrator Athletics
Dr. Laurel Fulkerson Associate Vice President for Research Office of Research
Ashton Henderson Associate Director of Football Advising Athletics
Miguel Hernández Associate Director The Center for Leadership & Social Change
Dr. Roxanne Hughes Director, Center for Integrating Research & Learning National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Dr. Bruce Lamont Jim Moran Eminent Scholar in Business Administration and Director of Research, Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship  
Stephanie Lee Student Body Vice President SGA
Dr. Lara Perez-Felkner Assistant Professor/Program Coordinator College of Education
Dr. Dragana Popovic Research Faculty III National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Ladanya Ramirez- Surmeier Graduate Student Department of Sociology
Dr. John Ribó Assistant Professor The English Department
Dr. Cristina Rios Faculty Elementary Education Teaching FSU Panama City
Shane Whittington Program Coordinator The Center for Leadership & Social Change
title-inside title-centered