President’s Council on Diversity & Inclusion

certificate series logo

The President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion is a standing body of faculty and staff throughout the university that work to ensure that FSU creates and maintains a diverse, inclusive, and equitable campus for all of our faculty, staff, students, and the communities in which we live and learn. The Council is led by a Steering Committee made up of members of the President’s Executive team. The Steering Committee provides guidance to the work of the larger Council and reviews proposals and projects developed by the workgroups. The Council’s primary charge is to advance initiatives that will allow the university to meet the goals outlined in the Strategic Plan that was approved by the Board of Trustees in October 2017.

The Council is comprised of several workgroups that move the work forward:

  • D&I Student Ambassadors
  • Grants
  • D&I Funding Campaign
  • Speaker Series
  • Community Relations
  • Assessment & Research
  • Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) Planning Team

History: FSU created the first university-wide Diversity and Inclusion Council in the fall of 2011. The Council is led by the President and facilitated by the Assistant Vice President/Chief HR and Diversity Officer. In September 2015 the Council was reorganized into a general body made up of three (3) Workgroups and a Steering Committee.

Council Structure

President John Thrasher

John Thrasher

Steering Committee

Kyle Clark Vice President, Finance & Administration  
Carolyn Egan General Counsel  
Renisha Gibbs Associate Vice President for Human Resources/Finance and Administration, Chief of Staff & Chief Diversity Officer  
Dr. Amy Hecht Vice President, Division of Student Affairs  
Dr. Tom Jennings Vice President for University Advancement  
Dr. Janet Kistner Vice President for Faculty Development & Advancement  
Dr. Sally McRorie Provost and Vice President for Executive Affairs  
Dr. Gary Ostrander Vice President for Research  

Council: Faculty, Staff, Students, Community

HR Administrative Liasion: Michelle Douglas

President’s Council on Diversity & Inclusion

Billy Close Assistant Professor/College of Criminology & Criminal Justice
Roxanne Hughes Research Faculty/National High Magnetic Field Lab
John Ribo Assistant Professor/English
Somnath Chatterjee Director, Academic & Student Services/Office of Financial Aid
Antonio Cuyler Associate Professor/Art Education
Bruce Lamont Eminent Scholar/Management
Bridgett Birmingham University Librarian/Strozier Library
Arnel Bacani Director, Building Services/Facilities Administrative Services
Lara Perez-Felkner Associate Professor/Education Leadership & Policy Studies
Eric Friall Courtesy Appointment/Human Resources
Cristina Rios Teaching Faculty/PCC Academic Faculty Office
Annie Grier Senior Coordinator for Diversity & Inclusion/Office of Human Services
Vanessa Fuchs Senior Associate Athletic Director/Athletics Administration
Dragana Popovic Research Professor/National High Magnetic Field Lab
Shane Whittington Student Program Coordinator/Center for Leadership & Social Change
Ladanya Ramirez Surmeier Graduate Assistant in Teaching/Sociology
Ashton Henderson Program Director/Athletics Administration
Sabrina Dickey Assistant Professor/Nursing Department
Laurel Fulkerson Associate Vice President for Research/VP Research
Michelle Douglas Director, Organizational Development & Equal Opportunity Compliance
Karin Brewster Professor, Department of Sociology
Brandon Bowden Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
title-inside title-centered